Meet Our Commissioners

Commissioner Jason Todd Allen
Term Expires: December 31, 2020

Commissioner Allen joined the Commission in 2018. He is a Partner with Bass Sox Mercer in Tallahassee, Florida. Commissioner Allen is originally from Citrus County, Florida and received his undergraduate degree from Florida State University. While in college, Jason was a member of the Florida State golf team and Dean’s List. He obtained his juris doctorate from Mercer University School of Law in Macon, Georgia. In law school, Jason was a member of the moot court team, advancing to the Semi-Finals of the Gabrielli National Moot Court Competition in Albany, New York. He graduated cum laude and was made a member of order of the barristers. Jason returned to Tallahassee upon graduating from law school and has been a member of the Florida Bar since 2006. Jason served as a staff attorney for former Speaker of the House, Marco Rubio throughout his tenure as Speaker, working on a variety of legal issues including constitutional questions. After leaving the House, Jason worked as a clerk for Supreme Court Justice Ricky Polston. While he is away from the office, Jason enjoys a variety of outdoor activities, specifically inshore saltwater fishing, and is an avid sports fan.

Commissioner John Martin Hayes
Term Expires: December 31, 2020

Commissioner Hayes joined the Commission in 2018. He is a Partner with Akerman, LLP, and a highly regarded litigator, who focuses his litigation practice in the areas of general civil and administrative litigation. Martin works with motor vehicle dealers in all aspects of the motor vehicle dealer-manufacturer relationship. He represents national and public dealer groups and individual and multi-line dealers. Martin’s clients rely on his counsel with respect to the modification of dealer manufacturer franchise agreements, and navigating the ever-changing state laws affecting the dealer-manufacturer relationship. Martin represents auto dealers in litigation, mediations, and informal settlement conferences on issues as diverse as acquiring additional dealerships, warranty audit issues, facility upgrades, terminations, and buy-sell turndowns. Martin also represents employers in matters such as employment discrimination, wrongful terminations, and whistleblower cases. He advises a variety of manufacturers and businesses in breach of contract cases, assists consumer lenders in preparation and review of contracts, lease agreements, and assorted contracts.

Commissioner Patricia Hollarn
Term Expires: December 31, 2016

Commissioner Hollarn joined the Commission in 2013. She was the Supervisor of Elections in Okaloosa County, Florida for twenty years until her retirement January 5, 2009. During that time she brought her office to both statewide and national stature through outstanding election administration and innovative programs, making as much use of technology as resources permitted. Her K-12 Kids Vote Too/Teens Vote Too program, a diverse program culminating in 35,000 students voting by internet in all general elections, has won state and national awards. As Pat was herself an overseas military voter during her husband’s Air Force career and Okaloosa County home to multiple military bases and thousands of UOCAVA voters world-wide, she has worked tirelessly to improve registration and voting for this constituency. In November 2008, the success of her overseas secure electronic voting pilot project was not only the first of its kind in the country, but is now the foundation of her continuing work in Operation BRAVO Foundation and her consulting services in Integrity Unlimited LLC. Pat has her BA from the University of New Hampshire, has done extensive graduate work at several universities during her Air Force travels, has earned the Election Center’s CERA certification, as well as FSU’s Center for Public Management certification and has had an extensive career in business and as a teacher prior to being an election official. Her community service includes board membership in Institute for Senior Professionals at Northwest Florida State College, Emerald Coast Military Affairs Council, Catholic Charities of Northwest Florida, Crestview Rotary, Main Street Crestview, among others.

Commissioner Joni Poitier, Vice-Chair
Term Expires: December 31, 2019

Commissioner Poitier was appointed to the Commission in 2016. She is an associate with the Jacksonville law firm of Mosley Prichard Parrish Knight & Jones, where she defends the firm’s clients in civil actions ranging from automobile negligence actions to complex class action litigation. Ms. Poitier currently serves on the board of directors for Family Foundations of Northeast Florida, Inc., and she is active in her church and many local civic and charitable organizations. She earned her law degree from Vanderbilt University School of Law and graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Arts degree from Spelman College. Ms. Poitier is a native Floridian who grew up in Miami.

Commissioner Kymberlee Curry Smith
Term Expires: December 31, 2020

Commissioner Smith joined the Commission in 2016 and was reappointed in 2017. She is a proud graduate of Boston College Law School and Florida State University. Ms. Smith began her career as an associate with Adorno & Yoss LLP, focusing on real estate and land use/zoning matters. She then became an assistant city attorney with the City of Miami, where she focused on land use/zoning, environmental, code enforcement, community development and general transactional matters and served on the following boards: Code Enforcement; Plat and Street; Bayfront Park Management Trust; and Arts and Entertainment. She is a past president of the Gwen S. Cherry Black Women Lawyers Association. Ms. Smith serves as the association’s representative to the Legal Services of Greater Miami, Inc., as a board member. She is also a proud member of The Florida Bar’s Wm. Reece Smith, Jr. Leadership Academy, as well as a member of the Law Related Education Committee.

Commissioner Barbra Stern
Term Expires: December 31, 2019

Commissioner Stern was appointed to the Commission in 2012 and reappointed in 2016. She is a Partner at the Dwyer Law Group. She is experienced in labor and employment law and first party property damage claims. Commissioner Stern also handles all aspects of insurance defense including premises liability, security, personal injury, coverage disputes and commercial litigation. She has been a member of the Broward County Bar Association, the National Association of Professional Women and currently serves as a Board Member for the Performing Arts Center Authority, the Chair of Riverwalk Fort Lauderdale, Inc., and the Vice Chair of the Fort Lauderdale Community Appearance Board. She earned her Juris Doctor degree from Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad Law Center and her Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from the University of Florida. Commissioner Stern currently resides in Broward County.